DG 1Anyone familiar with David McCandless’s TedTalk, books or even his SAPPHIRE NOW presentation last May, knows that he is a master of compelling visualizations and storytelling. David will join us as the third Data Genius in our webinar series, delivering a live workshop in three different time zones on October 8th to help you learn how to make your data beautiful (registration details below).

If you’ve spent time looking through David’s blog, Information is Beautiful, you can see that he is masterful in using unique designs to tell his stories. In this webinar David will teach you about his methodology for developing infographics and visualizations based on his data journalist and information designer background. Through concepting you will learn about how he uses a clear focus on the goal or purpose to cut extraneous detail and make the story clear. One way he makes data more interesting is to ask more questions and repeat this adding of layers of understanding to tell a real story. Even though in business intelligence one might think that visualizations are different – executives still want a story on how the business is doing and a top dashboard designer will employ journalistic skills to bring that story to clarity for the executive.

One of David’s specialties is big data stories and he will share how he structures and examines data for insights. You will learn how he discovers the key insights and then delivers them in a beautiful way. One of his key teachings is that the amount might be interesting but the real story lies in making comparisons. It is in doing this effectively, that you communicate effectively.

A good story also needs context yet many dashboards fall short in delivering this as they fail to use titles and labels effectively. David will also cover how to effectively use different elements of visual language like color, shape, position, pattern, frequency, and proximity.

Data doesn’t communicate itself. You need visualizations and a story to communicate. We believe that some of the top geniuses in the data visualization space can help you do this better and move you one step closer to creating an information-driven culture. If you’re interested in building an information-driven culture at your company, start by encouraging everyone involved in telling a story with data visualization to attend these free educational webinars where you can ask David McCandless questions live.

And don’t forget to show off your own data viz skills by entering our Data Genius contest – make a difference to a social cause and have a chance to win a free pass to SAPPHIRE NOW 2016.

Webinar Abstract:

Data is Beautiful: Introducing a concept-led approach to visualizing data

When faced with data and projects that require visualization, how do you decide which data to visualize? What to include or exclude? How do you make your data visuals interesting, impactful, and memorable?

In this one-hour webinar, author and data-visualization expert David McCandless will introduce his method of visualizing data and information and guide you through hands-on exercises that will give you a direct feel for this innovative and effective concept-led approach.

This introductory webinar covers

  • Concepting and the generation of good, interesting ideas
  • Converting data and concepts into visual language
  • Executing appropriate and effective visualizations

Webinar Date and Times:

Thursday, October 8
North America: EDT 1:00 p.m.; PDT 10:00 a.m.
EMEA CEST:    19:00

Register Now

———————————————–

Thursday, October 8
North America:  EDT 8:00 a.m.
EMEA CEST:  14:00
Bangalore IST:  5:30 p.m.
Singapore SGT:  8:00 p.m.

Register Now

———————————————–

Thursday, October 8
EMEA CEST:  7:00
Bangalore IST:  10:30 p.m.
Singapore SGT:  1:00 p.m.
Australia AEST: 3:00 p.m.

Register Now

 

David McCandless bio:

McCandless2David is a London-based author, data-journalist and information designer. His blog and best-selling books Information Is Beautiful (2009) and Knowledge is Beautiful (2014) are dedicated to visualizing ideas, issues, knowledge and data – and to discovering novel patterns and stories in the seas of data swamping and surrounding us. David McCandless created an Internet of Things add-on for SAP Lumira and presented at SAPPHIRE NOW – you will find the links to the replay, the instructions for the IoT visualization and other videos here.

 

Follow David McCandless at @infobeautiful and me at @AnitaGibbings.